EXAMPLE: Typography Whore

Like most of us here, I follow a lot of design blogs. I love typography and have hundreds of typography quotes saved on my phone for inspiration. This was actually just a personal project that I did for fun. I wanted to take a crack at creating my own version of the typographical quotes I see so often.

I’d love to hear some feedback on the layout, typeface choices and just overall aesthetic appeal. I crave honesty. I feel that I’ve reached a bit of a plateau in my design skills and I can’t improve unless I’m…humbled, haha So..feel free to speak your mind.

Thanks!

Justin

10 thoughts on “EXAMPLE: Typography Whore”

  1. I like the vintage poster feel you have going on and the typefaces you’ve chosen. I would adjust the spacing just a little and give just a touch more space on the bottom half perhaps? Great job!

  2. Try making the dots of the dotted lines smaller. I think they’re too large now and make the line of type they are enclosing vibrate and hard to read.
    I also think that DESIRES needs some more kerning. Have you tried flipping it? The spaces between DE and RE look a bit strange. It might just be me though.
    Otherwise, it’s looking pretty slick. I like! :)

    1. Looking at it now, I definitely agree with the dots sizes and the kerning. Good eye my friend, good eye:) but I already knew you had at least one good eye, haha j/k

  3. Use ITS instead of IT’S.

    Use an en dash or something else with the name.

    Same as above, always turn the entire thing upside down and mirror image it. Fix then print it out and hang it on the wall upright. Then turn it upside down.

    Otherwise, looking good!

    1. I always forget to turn my work upside down but that’s great advice. I will start doing that now. Thanks for your thoughts!

  4. First off, these kinds of typography projects are great. I think everyone should be doing them. Thank you for posting it.

    Here are a few suggestions:

    SPACING
    The spacing does need some work. It’s great at the top but then it kind of bottlenecks after the first row of dots. This is actually a bit of an optical illusion because the typography in the upper half of the design is so spacious. It appears that the leading is mathematically equal from the dots down, but that might be what is causing the illusion. I’d play with the spacing (starting with the row of dots) and see if you can fight the illusion with more breathing room between lines.

    TYPE ORNAMENTS
    I like the use of the decorative type ornaments, but the ornaments at the very top and bottom of the design are throwing me off. They’re the only two places in the composition where black lines cross. Which in some ways seems like they might be an afterthought. I’d either build up the ornament as a more significant part of the frame or use more crossing lines elsewhere in the design so there is some correlation to them. If you choose to keep them as is, I might only try flipping the ornament on the bottom horizontally so it is a mirror image of the ornament on the top.

    MARGINS VS. BORDER
    I see two different things happening in the margins. There is a box around the design which implies that the contents should conform to a margin within the box. Using that margin will help the overall design feel a bit more balanced.

    BUT, I also get that sometimes “taming chaos” isn’t the point. In which case, you may consider dropping the box entirely. Then you can do whatever you want with varying line lengths. Even exaggerate them. It’s much easier to execute with when you don’t have a hard optical edge to contrast it against.

    How’s that for honesty?

    Great work. More please. :)

    1. Dude, thank you for such specific thoughts! That’s exactly what I need. I appreciate your time man. Love the honesty. I’ll definitely have to revisit this and apply your suggestions. Thanks again!

  5. Thanks to everyone who left a comment or stopped to take a peak. I’d love to see all of your guys’ work. Post it up!

  6. Bravo, for being the first to post your work up for critique. Overall it is a nice piece. I agree that you need to work on the kerning in DESIRES. ABANDON ITSELF, looks like it could be opened up just a little as well. Did you try the backslash and dots in a lighter type face? Maybe that will help the bottom heaviness of the piece. Nice work.

Leave a Reply

